Carbon resource
to X products
World Coal To X World Coal To X World Coal To X

World CTX Award 2015

The World CTX Award

The World CTX Award is conferred annually to an eminent personality who has contributed substantially to the understanding and development of Coal, Petcoke and Biomass Conversion.

2015 Award

On February 27, the Advisory Board elected Dr. Yang Yong, Director of R&D Center and Deputy General Manager of Synfuels China as the 2015 World CTX Recipient.

The presentation ceremony took place on April 16, 2015 in Beijing.

Yang YongDr. YANG Yong

Dr. Yang Yong, born in 1976, is the Director of R&D Center and Deputy General Manager of Synfuels China. He is also an adjunct professor at the Institute of Coal Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

His scientific curiosity, technical skills and talent for managing have led him to take in charge high level missions in a short time. Under his impetus, Synfuels China has made remarkable technological breakthroughs in the development of a new generation of high efficiency catalyst and process for indirect Coal to Liquid (CTL). These breakthroughs have led demonstration plants to successful operations and opened the field to commercial application around the world.

After receiving his Ph.D in physical chemistry from the Institute of Coal Chemistry (CAS) in 2004, Dr. Yang joined Synfuels China as a senior researcher and soon became a key technology manager of the company.

Synfuels China had been founded by Professor Yongwang Li and his colleagues to develop advanced CTL technology. A key challenge was in the difficult temperature and slurry system under which the catalyst has to reach high activity and selectivity with high stability and attrition resistance. Based on the fundamental research on catalytic mechanism, a high performance catalyst was developed by Synfuels China under Dr. Yang’s leadership together with the High temperature Slurry-Phase Fischer-Tropsch Synthesis Process (HTSFTP®) technology. The conversion activity of the catalyst was dramatically improved, from regularly admitted 0.15-0.35 gC3+/gCat/hour to 0.8-1.2 gC3+/gCat/hour.

Dr. Yang and his team then developed a process technology to produce the catalyst. This process uses metal iron as raw material and features low water consumption (<10 t water/ ton catalyst). A demonstration plant (1,500 t/a) was put into operation in 2008.

HTSFTP® catalyst and process have been used in Yitai and Lu’an CTL demonstration plants (160 kt/a) since 2009. Anticipated performances were achieved, such as low methane selectivity (2.5-3.0wt%) and relative high total energy conversion efficiency of 40.53% for the whole CTL process. The technology was certificated by Inner Mongolia Development and Reform Commission in 2010.

From 2011, further improvements have been implemented to the process and the catalyst in demonstration plants. To date, eight commercial CTL projects with a total production capacity of 12 Mt/a are being constructed and will be successively commissioned in late 2015 and the commercial catalyst plant (12 kt/a) has been operating since Nov. 2014.

Dr. Yang has published more than 60 scientific articles and obtained 33 patents. He has been awarded the Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award from Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2005, National Energy Technology Progress Award from China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Association in 2010, and Mao Yisheng Beijing Youth Science and Technology Award in 2012.

World CTX Award Recipients

– 2015: Dr. Yang Yong, Director of R&D Center and Deputy General Manager of Synfuels China

– 2014: Dr. Wu Xiuzhang, Chairman of China Shenhua Coal to Liquid and Chemical Company Limited and Vice Chief Engineer of Shenhua Group Corporation Limited

– 2013: Mr. Max-Michael Weiss, Director Innovation, Clean Conversion of Air Liquide Global Engineering & Construction Solutions, Germany

– 2012: Dr. Shu Geping, Chief Engineer of China Shenhua Coal to Liquid & Chemical Ordos Coal Liquefaction Company, China

– 2011: Mr. Rudi Heydenrich, Executive Manager of Sasol Technology, South Africa.

– 2010: Mr. Zhang Jiming, Vice President of China Shenhua Coal To Liquid and Chemical, China.

– 2009: Dr. Theo Lee, Chief Technology Officer of Headwaters CTL, USA.

– 2008: Dr. Sadao Wasaka, Executive Director of the New Energy and Industry Technology Organization or NEDO, Japan.

Dr. Wu Xiuzhang

Mr. Max Weiss (right)
Shu Geping2012
Dr. Shu Geping

Mr. Rudi Heydenrich (right)

Mr. Zhang Jiming

Dr. Theo Lee

Dr. Sadao Wasaka (left)